Skip to main content

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Dear Interwebz users,

Thank you for your patience as I didn't get y'all a guest today. I know, bad blogger, who ignores you more often than not these days. I'm very nearly caught up with my edits/beta reading/life (ha!), I promise.

Let me tell you a story. It goes like this...

Once upon a time, there was a writer. She entered a contest called the Weta Nichols Writing Contest. She waited patiently for the results (okay, she doesn't have a patient bone in her body). The finalists were announced and lo, and behold, her name was on the list! She waited very impatiently (at least she's willing to admit it now) for the final results. To her surprise, she won the first place certificate for her novel! And then she submitted the novel to the final judge who requested it and a couple of months later, signed a contract to have the novel published!

That writer was me.

It's a true story, and one that hopefully tells you that dreams do come true. Wystan (The Heckmasters) is coming out from Samhain Publishing in October. I fully intended to self-publish the series, but when I met with my editor the first time, she loved it and the rest is history. I've love working with her and I was way less nervous about sending Eban's book to her. So...

Now I'm one of those people who say, yes, contests work to get you in editors' and agents' eyes. You should try it. In fact, the 2014 Weta Nichols Writing Contest is now open for submissions!

Here are the deets:

Submit the first chapter (up to 2,500 words) of your unpublished novel to win prizes and a chance to be read by one of the agents or editors serving as our final judges.

Contest is open to both published and unpublished authors, but the piece submitted must be unpublished (traditional, self-pub, or e-pub) and not under contract to be published.

Categories in which entries may be judged are: Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal/Sci-Fi and Young Adult/Middle Grade. Entries are open genre and not required to contain romantic tones.

Membership in Ozarks Romance Authors is not required in order to enter. There will be three prizes awarded in each category: 1st place $75 and a 1-Year ORA Membership, 2nd place $50 and 3rd place $25.


Contemporary–Liz Pelletier, Publisher and Co-founder of Entangled Publishing and Savvy Media Services, which owns Savvy Authors.
Historical–Nicole Resciniti, Literary Agent with The Seymour Agency.
Paranormal/Sci-Fi–Holly Atkinson, Acquiring Editor with Samhain Publishing.
Young Adult/Middle Grade–Nicole Resciniti, Literary Agent with The Seymour Agency

Just click HERE to go to the page and get your first chapter submission ready. You could be the next big winner!