Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from May, 2015

Guest Post - The Midwife's Moon by Leona Bushman

Book 2 of the War of the Weres is out! I’m so excited! I’ve waited a long time to renew my love affair  with them. We had to move locations as the well had been soured at the old one. But now, clear, crystal water, with a few filters.

This has been re-edited, about 1k words net added, and some were cut, so probably 1500 new words. It’s the same beloved story, continues the saga, and yet is a story of its own. I love werewolves. In this book, we’re still on the reservation where I’ve lived much of my life, so we still have a strong Native American flavor to it.

Each group of weres, whether it’s wolves, cats, bears, etc., has their own flavor, just like people do. Full blooded Scots in America are not the same as full blooded Scots in Scotland. There are similarities and traditions that they’ve all handed down, but they’re not the same. How much more so are Americans different from say, Brazilians? As people, there are some consistencies to how our cultures evolve, but there are distinc…

Boot Camp, Baby

Here we are at the week before the last week of May. My, has time flown. I've been working on a historical romance I started the 1st of April. I started it to participate in Savvy Author's Boot Camp. I haven't done much on that forum, nor have I reported in every day since the day their forum broke, so I've been doing everything on my own.

The good news: I'm at 43,000 words, shooting toward 50,000. There are a fair few days left in lovely May, so I'm very much hoping that despite some hits and misses in this rough draft, I will get my word count goal in before the 1st of June.

This time, I chose a fictional town in Arkansas as a place to set up a romance story with some light suspense. I've enjoyed writing it because despite the 50k goal, I haven't rushed myself on it much. There was no urgency, just a pleasurable jaunt through the fictional world. It was nice to have a goal. I hope to have it finished before the middle of June. I was really hoping to w…

Vikings are Hawt #MFRWHooks

It's mid-week, which is a little astounding. We're head toward a three-day weekend thanks to Memorial Day. I'm looking forward to sleeping in on Monday. But today, I have an offering from Her Heart's Surrender, my Viking romance novel. It's Marketing For Romance Writer's #BookHooks! Let's do it.

“Say my name again, little lamb.” He’d never get enough of hearing it caressed by her lips.
“Hella.” She pushed it through her clenched teeth a moment before he kissed her again.
I’ve been blessed by the gods tonight. Given a second chance to have this woman. He wouldn’t waste it.

One woman will turn the tide of battle by risking everything for the man she loves.

Taken from her village as a child, Ealasaid has lived under the iron rule of a Viking king for far too long. The only good to come out of her life is her son. As long as the king lives, their freedom and hope for the future seems dismal. Despite her contempt for the king and his bloodline, she's drawn to …

Guest Post & Book Feature - Secrets of the Moon by Kristy Centeno

The Inspiration behind Secrets of the Moon By reading Secrets of the Moon most would automatically assume that werewolves were the inspiration behind the story. However, although they play a big part of it, they’re not the only reason. You see, when I first began to analyze in what direction I wanted the plot to take, I knew it had to be something a bit drastic. Your ordinary werewolf story just wasn't going to cut it for me. I wanted the readers to not only identify with the characters, but to be surprised by the many twists and turns.
Needless to say, I wanted to take readers into a roller-coaster ride. However, from the very beginning I knew this wasn't going to be easy. Knowing I had a mission to do, I set out on countless hours of research. Much like Marjorie does in the story; I sat down in front of the computer and researched everything I could on werewolves and of course, on actual wolves. I did find numerous sites, books, and even reports about the subject, which helped…

Book Feature - Under Starry Skies by Judy Ann Davis

e-Book Just $0.99/Print Just $16.99! Buy Link: Amazon| Barnes & Noble | All Romance | Kobo Books | The Wild Rose Press
Published by: The Wild Rose Press
Genre: Historical Western Romantic Suspense
Release Date: May 6, 2014
Length: 308 Pages

About the Book:
Hired as the town’s school teacher, Maria O’Donnell and her sister Abigail arrive in the Colorado Territory in 1875, only to find the uncle they were to stay with has been murdered. 

Rancher Tye Ashmore is content with life until he meets quiet and beautiful Maria. He falls in love at first sight, but her reluctance to jeopardize her teaching position by accepting his marriage proposal only makes him more determined to make her part of his life. 

When their lives are threatened by gunshots and a gunnysack of dangerous wildlife, Tye believes he is the target of an unknown enemy. Not until Maria receives written threats urging her to leave does she realize she might be the target instead of the handsome rancher.


With the help of Tye, Abigai…

Authors Assemble

Tomorrow is the big day! I'm super excited and probably won't sleep a wink tonight. Eureka Springs is one of my favorite places in the world and I'm thrilled stupid to hopefully share my books with the people roaming the streets. I have copies of The Convict and the Cattleman, The Wrong Brother's Bride, Wystan, Eban, the entire Legends and Lovers series, and of course, Wildwood Spring. I'll also have the QR code set up for the books that I don't have with me. I come prepared.

Here's the deets, in case you missed the 5,000 postings on FB.

Who: Lisa Medley and Allison Merritt
What: Selling and signing badass books
When: May 16, 2015 from 10 am to 2 pm CST.
Where: Nature's Treasures on 6 S. Main St, Eureka Springs, AR
Why: Because we're kick ass authors and our friend Sara Jordan said we could borrow the shop.



We're gonna rock it!

P.S. That poster looks way more awesome in real life. You should come see it.

Stuff and Things...in My Car

My car is packed and loaded for Meet the Authors day in Eureka on Saturday. At first, it looked like a jumbled mess, largely because it was. That'll do it. So Monday evening, I spent time sorting it out. I can't figure out why I didn't get a tote to put my books in instead of using two cardboard boxes. Because I like doing things the hard way, that's why. It's fun to juggle boxes and a bag of things I probably won't need, but I might if I didn't have them. Don't want to pull a Sam Gamgee. '"And only last night you said to yourself: 'Sam, what about a bit of rope? You'll want it, if you haven't got it.'"

That's me. All the time when I think, nah, I don't need that.

Sometimes I want to kick my own ass later for thinking that. Dummy. You'd think I'd have learned. Okay, I sort of have, because I have the Big Bag o' Stuff I Might Need/Didn't Fit Into a Proper Box.

I should really get a tote.

Arkansas, head…

Cover Reveal - Scandalous Intentions by Amanda Mariel

Scandalous Intentions
Amanda Mariel
Release Date: June 18, 2015
Publisher: Three Worlds Press
Length: 40k/about 124 pages in eBook
Heat Rating: 2

Lady Sarah wants the freedom granted to men, but her only hope is a notorious rake out to keep his inheritance at any cost. Neither counted on falling in love.

Blurb:
When faced with losing his inheritance, notorious rake Lord Julian Luvington sets his sights on Lady Sara. She’s as respectable as they come, just what his father ordered. But the lady shan’t be easily won.

She’s determined to marry for love or not at all, and she’ll do anything to obtain the freedom granted to men. A blackguard like Lord Luvington could destroy her hard­won reputation, but marriage to him also offers her the opportunities she can’t achieve on her own. What’s a lady to do?

When Lord Luvington refuses to abandon his pursuit, Lady Sara proposes an arrangement. Only the price maybe more than either bargained for. Lady Sara could lose more than her social standing …

Book Feature & Giveaway - Mystic Series by Rosanne Bittner

Genre: Historical Western Romance
Publisher: Forge Books


Mystic Dreamers
by Rosanne Bittner
Pre-Order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBook | Kobo Books
Genre: Historical Western Romance
Release Date: May 12, 2015
Length: 379 Pages

For over a decade, Rosanne Bittner has enchanted her readers with tales of adventure and romance in the times before the White Man settled the West. Now, in the tradition of Kathleen O'Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear, the bestselling author of Song of the Wolf and the Savage Destiny Indian series turns her hand to historical fiction with a wonderful new story of Native America sure to capture you and carry you on an adventure of love and hate, good and evil, life and death.

In 1833, Star Dancer, a Sichangu (BrulĂ© Sioux), is promised in marriage to Stalking Wolf, an Oglala warrior whom she has never met. What begins as a loveless union develops into a moving story of a man and a woman led by powers beyond their control. Dreams, visions, and mystic experienc…

An Author's Work

Wow, I had such an awesome weekend. We kicked it off with the first night of First Friday Artwalk at BookMarx in downtown Springfield. I had so much fun with Rosalie Stanton, Yvonne Erwin, and Heather Snow. What a great bunch of authors. I even sold some books. Woo!

Saturday, the spousal unit and I went to Eureka Springs to distribute flyers and inform the masses of my (and Lisa Medley's) upcoming presence in their town. I about killed myself running up and down stairs between two streets. I understand why there's a bar between the streets on those stairs, believe me. It was tempting to stop in and have a shot before making a Herculean effort to reach the top. I refrained. There are more than a few flyers hanging up around town now.

Last night, I joined two other authors on a broadcast called Authors in the Round on In The Hole Studio's site. I Skyped, and it was a lot of fun.

I'd like to say, okay, I can relax now, but I still have a ton of things to do before we'…

One Night Only

For one night only, I'll be at BookMarx on Walnut Street in Springfield, MO with lovely books you, yes you, can purchase. 
Other authors are there too, including the fabulous Rosalie Stanton, stunning Yvonne Erwin, and magnificent Heather Snow. There will be books and I have (as always) candy. It's free, although for some reason, people seem leery of it. I swear it's good and innocent candy that just wants to go home with you.
Embrace the free candy. Come see me, kids. I'm more scare of you than you are of me.